Walkthrough (and try not to run)

I’ve been a gamer for a long while, and if there is one thing that irritates me are cheats, and exploits. There’s a certain kind of satisfaction to finishing a game (without being in god-mode the whole time) that never leaves you. If I start to get really frustrated, I’ll glance at a walkthrough…but still enjoy the game. For example, when Hitman: Blood Money came out, I got hold of a walkthrough. Although since it was a recent game, some enthusiast had only written out half of the missions. I admit that I was a bit bummed, although I was equally encouraged to prove that I was far from lazy.

The good news is I did finish the game, and appreciated the fact I was only semi-assisted. You may argue that cheating may be fun…which is only true for the first few attempts. After that you’re forced to toss the game aside and moan about it to your friends. Although, if you choose to be stubborn about it and take your hacks online…you will soon find yourself kicked and/or banned. From then it’s either a hunt for a new channel, or a run from the law.

My point is that trying to be ‘clever’ and do something no one else has in a game is to your own detriment. You will very soon see that buying a new game…is far more fun, and far less effort. (E.g. you get to gaze at the artwork like you would a new girlfriend.)

There’s a feeling about owning an original that never leaves your veins.

PhilosopherPoet

p.s. (H4ck3rs R n00bs) 😛

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

